Bob Seger Nominated For Induction Into Songwriters Hall Of Fame

Posted on: 10/20/11

By Aaron Foley |



File photo Bob Seger



Already a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, Bob Seger might be able to add another accolade to his list: Induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.


Seger is one of several nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall this year, alongside Elvis Costello, Tom Waits, Gordon Lightfoot, George Michael and others.


Both non-performer songwriters and singer-songwriters are eligible for induction, which is chosen by voting members. Five Seger songs -- "Like a Rock," "Night Moves," "Rock & Roll Never Forgets," "Still the Same" and "We've Got Tonight" -- are noted by the SHOF as some of his best work.


Other nominees this year include Pete Townshend, Dion DiMucci, Deborah Harry and Chris Stein, Cat Stevens, Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart, and Steve Miller.


Non-performer songwriters eligible for induction this year include Don Covay (who wrote Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools"), Jerry Fuller, Graham Gouldman, Tony Hatch, Sandy Linzer and Denny Randell, Tony Macaulay, Chris Moman, Artie Resnick and Kenny Young, Don Schlitz, P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri, Jim Steinman, and Paul Vance and Lee Pockriss.


The induction gala will be held in June 2012.